A Rainy Day in July

On a rainy day in July, I look out at the dull blue sky.

I think of you and my soul leaps forward, reaching out to yours.

In my head, I hold on to you, pulling you as close to me as possible.

Your head rests on my shoulder and my hands snake around your waist.

I breathe you in, each deep breath held; exhale and repeat it all over again.

The rain falls gently, a cool soft breeze wafts in.

I close my eyes as you traipse the corridors of my mind.

I miss you, words too inadequate to really convey the truth;

Of how I really feel whenever I wish you were beside me.

Sleeping has lost its restful quality,

I just do it because my body requires it.

I long for the day when I can hug you and touch you and kiss you.

I’m on my bed, writing on my computer; images of us together play on the screen of my mind.

The music blasts from my speaker and my head sways to the beat.

I reach out for you, my soul stretching out to yours.

I miss you so much on this rainy day in July.

Write... I'll read...